HUSK

Move over, froyo. The cool new kid on the block is now – froco. Say whutttt?

Inspired by the best recipes from the bustling streets of Bangkok, Froco (frozen coconut) blends nutrients from the freshest young Thai coconuts into the perfect ice-cold swirl. For those who love coconut as much as I do, you’ll understand what I mean when I say that froco is so much more amazing than froyo once you try this! Don’t get me wrong, I really like froyo and my “healthier choice” for dessert is always yami yogurt/llaollao/red mango and the likes. (Yes I know it’s not actually healthy and I’m just self-delusional that way).

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetBut back to froco. Can this really be the new “healthy” dessert out there? With less than 1% of dairy content, less than 4% fat per serving and a lean ~100 calories, I could eat this every day! Plus, its incredibly refreshing and tastes amazing. You know that feeling of drinking cold coconut water on a hot day by the beach? Take that, blended into a gratifying ice-cold swirl, and there you have the perfect dessert for our sunny weather.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetA small cup starts from $3.80, and you can choose from a plethora of toppings at $0.80 each. Ideally, a small cup should go with a single topping, but I was greedy and chose two. I understand why they recommended one though – the froco swirl is so generously portioned that my toppings had a hard time staying in the container and kept falling out! I really liked how fresh and sweet the mango was though! And the granola was delicious as well.

Besides their froco on its own, they have smoothies blended with froco as well! HUSK’s mission is to bring the #husklife to each individual, hence their three groups of smoothies are targeted to different palates. Prices of smoothies range from $6.20-$6.80.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetFor the classic sweet-tooth, the Fruity range of smoothies include Aloha Dance, Jumping Jack and Round-house Kick. Aloha Dance takes you straight to Hawaii with its blend of pineapple and banana. For those who enjoy the pungent flavour of jackfruit, go for Jumping Jack for a revitalising boost. Round-house Kick is packed with Vitamin C goodness with kiwi and apple.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetThe gym buffs will appreciate the substantial Power range of smoothies. And my favourite smoothie out of the 9 we tried was Pump It! It might have been the least photogenic with its greyish colour, but I loved the combination of flavours in this one! The blend of honey, banana and granola was the perfect complement to the froco, and I loved the textural dimension provided by the crunchy bits of crushed granola. Some might find it a tad sweet, but I really liked the flavour of the 100% natural honey. Other smoothies in this range include Can’t Touch This, which contains coconut water with immunity booster and The Bruce Lee which had a yummy crunch as well thanks to the muesli in it.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetAnd for the really healthy ones – the Green range. Now, the smoothies in this range might sound cringe-worthy to some, but guess what! They really weren’t as bad as they sounded, and in fact, I would say that I quite liked a couple of them from this range, more so than the fruity range which was a bit too sweet for me. The only one I couldn’t quite get over was Just Beet It, which even the most hardcore fans of beetroot commented that the taste was a bit too strong. Secret Garden contains cucumber, celery and spinach. And before you wrinkle your nose at the ingredients, trust me and give it a try. It was a great balance between the vegetables and the froco, which allowed the coconut flavour to emerge victorious in this clean-tasting, yet delicious smoothie. Freshly Minted was another one that I liked, with its fresh minty feel and zesty body thanks to the orange and lemon in it. For a body-cleansing drink after a heavy meal, you gotta go for these Green froco smoothies.

I can totally see myself HUSK-ing often, in place of my usual frocos, and I really look forward to their expansion plans so that I can get my hands on these more easily! For now, they’re located at Plaza Singapura #B2-49, so do check them out and let me know which smoothie is your favourite!

Leave a Reply

