Habitat Coffee

It’s really rare that I make a second trip to cafes/F&B establishments in general, because there are simply too many to finish trying. My foodie list constantly gets longer, but never shorter, and I don’t really see the point of going back to a place if I’ve already tried it before. Of course, there are a bunch of regulars that I do go back to frequently, but in general, I don’t make it back to the same place twice. Even places where I place on my “I will return” list, rarely get revisited, unfortunately.

So, it came as a surprise to myself when I made the decision to revisit Habitat Coffee. The last time I went there was nearly two years ago, probably when it first opened. Since then, the place seems to be doing a roaring business, and they revamped their menu recently, with many new offerings on it which is why we decided to come back ^^ Most of the items we ordered were their new items, save for the classic order of truffle fries, which we just couldn’t skip!

Habitat Coffee Truffle FriesHonestly, I can’t remember how the Truffle Fries ($8) tasted the last time I went, except that it was good. And it didn’t disappoint ether on my second visit! Although there wasn’t much aroma from the fries, taste-wise, the flavour was evident.

Habitat Coffee BBQ Pulled BeefA twist on the usual pulled pork dishes, Habitat presents its BBQ Pulled Beef ($13). An interesting variation, which works pretty well too in my opinion! Slow-cooked for 9 hours, the beef is marinated in an in-house BBQ sauce and was deliciously juicy! Paired with (juicy) tomatoes and a clump of alfalfa in between charcoal burger buns, this was a tasty burger that could compete with any pulled pork burger out there.

Habitat Coffee Chilli Crab Linguine I’m always a fan of anything chilli crab-flavoured, especially when I don’t have to get my hands dirty to enjoy it :P #lazybones. Habitat’s version of Chilli Crab Linguine ($17) packed a punch in the spiciness department. It was red hot spicy, but oh-so-yummy! Actually I can’t really discern how accurate it was to its namesake, but it was delish, and that’s all that mattered. Loved the fat chunks of crab they threw in, as well as the fried mantou!

Habitat Coffee Grilled Teriyaki Salmon PastaGotta thank grandma that we ordered this Grilled Teriyaki Salmon Pasta ($16) which we otherwise might not have considered! Haha. This was really good!!! The tender battered grilled salmon fillet sounded strange (don’t really understand why it’s battered and grilled) but it passed grandma’s exacting standards, which means thumbs-up for everyone else! The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente, the way I like it, and the sauce was to-die-for. Butter-tossed, with a honeyed teriyaki sauce, this was insanely delicious.

Habitat Coffee Stuffed Berries HotcakeThe highlight of the brunch, at least for me, was the Stuffed Berries Hotcake ($15)!! Since Paddy Hills debuted with theirs, several cafes (e.g. Curious Palette) have since jumped on the bandwagon. If you’ve seen these anywhere else, do drop me a comment because I’d love to know! Habitat’s hotcake hit the right notes with its pillowy fluffiness, and it came with a generous topping of mixed berries, as well as pumpkin seeds and walnuts which provided a much-needed crunch. Furthermore, Habitat’s version features cream cheese instead of the usual ricotta, which gave it a slightly creamier texture and a tinge of savouriness, which was a welcome contrast.

The new menu at Habitat impressed on many counts, and guess what? I’m now pretty tempted to make a third trip here after all!

Habitat Coffee
223 Upper Thomson Road
Tel.: +65 6456 2567
Tue-Fri 11am-10.30pm
Sat & Sun 10.30am-10.30pm
Closed on Mondays

Leave a Reply

