Nunsongyee

Continuing the Korean food craze, I couldn’t miss out their famous dessert, could I? Though I’ve never tried the original from Korea (apparently it’s even better and smoother than the Singapore version), I’ve been rather blown away by the ones I’ve tried here already! I had my first encounter with bingsu at O’ma Spoon, but I didn’t write about it then. My second experience was months later, and I finally made my way to this hole-in-the-wall, yet incredibly famous – Nunsongyee. Translated from Korean, it actually means “Snowflake”, and they have a good reason for naming it as such!

The first thing that struck me was that the staff were all Korean! That speaks volumes about authenticity already, and I was spoilt for choice by the menu offerings.

Nunsongyee Black Sesame BingusSettled for two bingsus and one of their signature toasts. The Black Sesame Premium Bingsu ($18.90 + $2 for ice cream) is one which has adorned numerous Instagram profiles with its photogenic appearance. It sure didn’t disappoint! Though the price is hefty – definitely one of the most pricey bingsus around – it made up for this with its generous portions. Full of ingredients, black sesame, almonds and a huge dollop of pat (red bean) and ice cream, atop an amazing finely-shaved base. Apparently Nunsongyee uses milk for its base, which means that it should not even be called “shaved ice”, and that’s what makes it so creamy and smooth. It was incredible! The only quibble I had was that despite the generous toppings, the base still seemed somewhat bland because there was so much shaved ice/milk leftover when we were done devouring the top

Nunsongyee Injeolmi BingsuThe Injeolmi Bingsu ($14.90), on the other hand, was tasty to the very last mouthful! It was the epitome of the phrase “looks are deceiving”, because I thought it looked like one of the least attractive bingsus ever. I couldn’t imagine why people always ordered this, yet I decided to give it a shot because of its popularity. And I was absolutely shocked at how delicious it was! I have to add a disclaimer that it’s probably because I’m a fan of peanut, which is why I liked it so much. But still. It was so so good! Just imagine muah chee on a bed of finely shaved ice/milk, with lots of almond slivers to boot. I was in peanut heaven! And unearthing the hidden mochi was quite an experience too. This is a must-order, in my opinion.

Nunsongyee Cinnamon Injeolmi ToastFinally, the Cinnamon Injeolmi Toast ($9.90) was also another interesting item to order. Mochi sandwiched between slices of buttery toast, topped with cinnamon and slivered almonds made for a tasty contrast to the bingsu when we started experiencing the brain-freeze. I would recommend that you order this as well!

Overall, a fantastic experience at Nunsongyee. I would certainly love to return for the Injeolmi Bingsu…if only it had another outlet in a more accessible location.

Nunsongyee
45 Burghley Drive
Tue-Thu 12pm-10pm
Fri 12pm-11pm
Sat 10am-11pm
Sun 10am-10pm
Closed on Mon

Leave a Reply

