Platypus Lobster Shack

I have a thing for lobster rolls. A craving stirs inside me whenever I see photos on it on instagram or whatever other social media it appears on. But….it’s so expensive! :( It’s really on rare occasions that I can bring myself to eat it. Been wanting to try Pints & Pints for the longest time, but the price is a major deterrent. Hopefully it is worth the splurge when I really do head there. I’ve only actually tried lobster roll once before this though, at The Market Grill. And it was so tiny, I honestly didn’t get enough of it.

Really glad that there is at least an affordable option at Platypus Lobster Shack though! I’ve heard mixed reviews about this place, about the lobster rolls not being as good as other places. But considering it’s a fraction of the price of rolls you can find elsewhere, there’s really nothing much to complain about. I suppose I haven’t had one that blew my socks off yet, so Platypus’ version was fabulous for me already! Priced at $19.90 for the roll ($22.90 for a set which comes with a small side of crisps and salad – apparently it’s not very worth it), this is definitely one of the most value-for-money options for lobster rolls!

Platypus Lobster Shack The Modern Lobster RollThe Modern is one of their signatures and it was a sight to behold with its flaming red chucks of lobster seasoned with hollandaise, marinated garlic, chillies and parmigiana. The flavours were a cacophony in our mouths (in a good way), and a squeeze of lemon juice helped to liven up the sweet chunks of lobster even more.

Platypus Lobster Shack Aburi Wasabi Creme Lobster RollWhile theย Aburi Wasabi Creme was a little less impressive in its appearance and possibly so in its flavour as well, I still enjoyed it nonetheless! I can’t resist anything with wasabi in it. And I loved how the lobster was flame-grilled to give it a beautiful smokey aroma. Generously topped with wasabi creme, this was absolutely delish as well! What I loved most about these rolls was how they were buttered to give it an amazing flavour – I could eat these buns on their own without the lobster if I had to!

I can’t wait to explore more places with lobster rolls, but in the meantime, while I’m not ready to splurge as yet, I will keep myself content by trying out the other lobster roll varieties at Platypus.ย Another plus point, it’s probably one of the (very) few places with different toppings for their lobster rolls, which gives me more reason to be back.

Platypus Lobster Shack
3 Pickering Street, #01-31, Nankin Row
Tel.: +65 6438 7961
Mon-Thu 6pm-10pm
Fri 6pm-11pm
Sat 6.30pm-11pm
Closed on Sunday

Leave a Reply

