Kko Kko Nara

I’ve been on a Korean food craze in the recent few months. Don’t mind me if the upcoming posts all seem to be entered around the same few varieties of food. Korean fried chicken, bingsu…etc. I had bingsu two weekends in a row, and I still haven’t quite got over it. It was a few months back when I tried Chicken Up with the superheroes, which was possibly my best experience with KFC to date. I was pretty excited when I finally had the opportunity to visit Kko Kko Nara because reviews had touted it to be the best out of all the KFCs in Singapore. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment, and Chicken Up still holds the trophy in my opinion.

Kko Kko Nara Korean Fried ChickenLet’s start with the chicken. I have to clarify that the chicken wasn’t bad. It was just not as good, perhaps due to heightened expectations from all the reviews I’d heard, but I was less impressed with it than the version I had at Chicken Up. We selected two flavours from the menu – Special Garlic Soy Sauce Chicken (8pcs wings $20) and Sweet & Spicy Chicken (Half $20). In terms of flavour, both were pretty decent. Finger-licking good, in fact. But what was really a letdown was the texture of the chicken. Unlike the juicy, generously-portioned pieces we had at Chicken Up, the ones we had here (especially the wings), were scrawny in comparison. There wasn’t much meat to allow the flavour to develop fully, and thus did not leave much of an impression.

Kko Kko Nara Spicy Beancurd SoupThankfully, Kko Kko Nara serves other dishes besides its KFC which fared somewhat better. We had the Spicy Beancurd Soup ($20 small) which came sizzling hot, with a piquant spicy aroma that tickled our tastebuds. This was a fiery dish that sent us into fits of coughs when we drank it too quickly, but it was really tasty nonetheless! It was filled to the brim with ingredients, and we gobbled down every bit of it.

Kko Kko Nara Kimchi PancakeThe Kimchi Pancake ($20) was generously portioned as well, and very tasty. Possibly a little on the salty side, and we could eat it easily without having to dip it in the sauce provided. We found it rather too floury though, and prefer the usual version we have at 2D1N.

Kko Kko Nara Watermelon SojuThe star of the night for me had to be the Watermelon Soju ($38). I don’t mean to keep drawing reference from my experience at Chicken Up, but since they seem to be continuously vying for the top position, I feel that I have to do some justice to the two options. The Watermelon Soju at Kko Kko Nara was incredible. For some reason, I did not really enjoy this drink the first time I tried it at Chicken Up. In this instance though, I absolutely loved it! Incredibly refreshing, with a suitable dose of alcohol, I helped myself to second and third helpings with abandon. The quantity here seemed more as well, somehow, though I’m not sure if that’s entirely true. In any case, I had my fill of it, which was great.

Overall, I felt that this place was worth a visit to size up the competition. Though it didn’t come up tops, it is definitely a strong contender and one of the best KFC that we can get in Singapore. And this place allows reservations! Which gives it a good fighting chance.

Kko Kko Nara
68 Tanjong Pagar Road
Tel.: +65 6225 9282
Lunch 12pm-3pm
Dinner 6pm-3am
Closed Sunday Lunch

Leave a Reply

