Sin Lee Foods

This place is probably past its fame, but I’ve finally dragged myself there to try it. I have to admit that I was rather apprehensive when I first heard about Sin Lee’s concept. A cafe built into an old shop, somewhat refurbished but still keeping its old signboard etc. There seemed to be a number of cafes popping up around that time, and the whole concept sounded old to me already. Well, guess I changed my mind somewhere along the way, and I was pretty happy with the food that I had there! I had done all my research before going to the cafe (yes that’s what I do all the time) and I knew exactly what I wanted to order.

Sin Lee Foods Aburi Broccoli SaladFirst up we had the Aburi Broccoli Salad ($12) which was highly recommend by…almost everyone who visited the cafe. To be honest, I was rather sceptical about this. Was it just a trend that made it such that everyone just had to order this dish? It’s just broccoli for heaven’s sake! Though I love salads nowadays, I really couldn’t imagine how good veggies could taste, such that everyone who visited the cafe raved about it.

I was wrong. YOU HAVE TO ORDER THIS.

They say “Trust us on this. You’ll want more!” And that’s pretty true. First mouth of it…I was thinking to myself, “Yeahh it’s quite good, but c’mob it’s not that fantastic.” But it grew on me. Maybe there’s something addictive in there (just kidding), but the more I ate it, the better it tasted! Perhaps it was the way the aroma of the smoky torched broccoli florets developed in my mouth, or how the generous sprinkling of white balsamic (what on earth is that?) lent the crisp florets an incredible flavour, or even the crunch of the bits of papadum in it. It comes with red sugar on the side as well, which gives the broccoli a light sweetness when dipped in it, but the broccoli tastes so good on its own already. It’s excellent.

Sin Lee Foods Salted Egg Sweet Potato FriesAnother side dish that I loved was the Salted Egg Sweet Potato Fries ($12). This could be my favourite version of fries ever! Anything salted egg gains brownie points on my foodie checklist, and while I wished they were more generous with the sauce, it was a delicious addition on top of the already yummy sweet potato fries! I absolutely couldn’t resist reaching out for another, and I devoured it rather quickly. Oops.

Sin Lee Foods Beef & GrainsWe only ordered one main to share, since we had so many sides already – the Beef & Grains ($25) was a really interesting dish. It was served with wet orzo “rice”, which is actually pasta. The last time I tried orzo was at The Tuckshop and I found it super interesting! This was quite a delectable dish and Sam absolutely loved it. The portion of beef was rather generous, and was seasoned well. And the egg was deliciously runny!

I had a much better experience at Sin Lee Foods than I originally expected (: Highly recommend all these dishes that I tried there!

Sin Lee Foods
4 Jalan Bukit Ho Swee
Tel.: +65 6377 3170
Tue-Fri 11am-9pm
Sat 9.30am-9pm
Sun 9.30am-6pm
Closed on Monday

Leave a Reply

