Gaest

I’ve been seeing too many photos of the pork sandwich from Gaest, and I timed my visit to make sure that I was just in time to eat it. Made use of the Good Friday early weekend to go for brunch that day ^^ Hehe. The food here is simple, but well-executed, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The Pork Sandwich ($14) is only available from 11am, so make sure you are there at the right time! I would totally go back for this again :)) It was sooooo yummy. Crispy, crackly roasted pork that was oh-so-sinful, but who cares when it tastes so good?! It sat atop a bed of purple cabbage sweetened with an orange marinade, with parsley, red apple slices and mustard mayonnaise. The various components of the sandwich complemented each other perfectly and hit all the right notes.
We ordered the two brunch items as well. I was a little disappointed by their presentation because it would have looked so much better on a huge plate or a wooden board for instance. But in true Scandinavian style, I guess those additional frills would be seen as a distraction from the core essence of the dishes – their quality ingredients. In the end I didn’t know which plate belonged to which dish, so the pictures might be a bit mixed up.
Brunch Plate #1 ($20) came with a Danish style omelette with potatoes, bacon, cherry tomatoes and sourdough bread with Danish butter, homemade rhubarb compote, brie, cream cheese and homemade caramel. Sounds like a mouthful doesn’t it! I absolutely loved all the condiments that came with the bread though!!! Each was unique in its own way, and I couldn’t get enough of the cream cheese, especially. The omelette was a super fluffy block, which was tasty, but not really my thing, simply because I’m not a fan of potatoes.
My pick between the two brunch plates would definitely be Brunch Plate #2 ($23). The sourdough bread came with avocado, generous slices of locally cold smoked salmon, cream cheese and homemade hazelnut/date butter. The combination of avocado, salmon and cream cheese was divine!!! I take back my words for brunch plate #1. GO FOR #2. I enjoyed the condiments in #1, but the savoury combinations is definitely my top choice in the way they complemented the sourdough. And that hazelnut/date butter :O :O It was so delicious! Smooth and nutty, this went smoothly onto the bread and it’s definitely set to be one of my favourite spreads ever. Oh and not to forget the homemade muesli with homemade rhubarb compote, fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. This is by far one of the BEST mueslis I’ve ever tried! Although it seems a little silly to eat this at a cafe when I can make it at home, I have absolutely no regrets. It was so so delicious (:
Will I be back? For the pork sandwich, definitely.
Gaest
21 McCallum Street #01-01
Mon-Fri 7.30am-4.30pm
Sat & Sun 8.30am-3.30pm
Leave a Reply

