The Laneway Market

Tucked into a corner slightly off Tanjong Katong Road, The Laneway Market is a quaint, pretty cafe that welcomes with its humble cosiness and warmth. From the moment I called to make a reservation at this cafe till the time I was bid goodbye personally, I experienced smiles and gentleness from all the staff. This was what impressed me the most at this cafe, and who could resist the beauty of its interior, and the unpretentious, tasty fare.
The menu is simple, with all options served throughout the day. There aren’t that many choices, but I was happy with all those that we decided to order.
From the breakfast selection, we opted for the stacked French Toast ($14). The classic combination of  toast with bacon and bananas can’t go wrong, but I liked how little touches enhanced the overall flavour of the dish. The caramelisation of the bananas, for example, gave an added crunch and sweetness; while the toasted almond and granola bits were the icing on the cake for me, pulling the dish together perfectly with the sticky sweet banana toffee sauce.
I’d heard so much about the Dashi Risotto ($17), and I was stoked to finally get to try it. It certainly lived up to expectations, not just visually arresting, but mouthwatering as well. It was hearty, flawlessly executed fare, with crispy mushrooms that cut through the creamy risotto, to create a perfect balance. Dig a little deeper, and you’ll find the beautiful sous vide egg, and burst it to coat the grains with its golden goodness.
This was probably the most visually confusing dish, but it’s actually a herb-roasted Chicken Thigh ($17), topped with garden greens and tomato arrabbiata. The flavour of the herbs might take some time to get used to, but the chicken was delightfully tender, which made it easy to eat.
The 12 hour braised beer-infused Pulled Pork ($17) was tasty, and we couldn’t get enough of the classic pairing with purple cabbage slaw, which lent a refreshing, juicy dimension to the dish. Crushed corn chips on top? Bring it on. And the dish came with a generous serving of truffle fries on the side, which we polished off in an instant.
For drinks, we got the Earl Grey Latte ($6) and Sea Salt Chocolate ($6) which are worth mentioning. Let me start with the latte which I ordered initially. I might have gotten it wrong, but I was under the impression that Earl Grey Latte would be a tea latte. Perhaps it was because it didn’t state “Earl Grey Tea Latte”, so it turned out to be coffee. But I thought that was rather misleading, and I was crushed when I found out, because I don’t drink coffee. I guess it was quite nice, but the fact that it was coffee just put me off entirely.
The Sea Salt Chocolate on the other hand, was a crowd favourite. We also ordered a normal hot chocolate, and my verdict was that the sea salt really helped to bring out the aromas of the chocolate. The flavour of the Sea Salt Chocolate was deeper, more pronounced, and lusciously rich.
Once again, kudos to the staff for the excellent service. Though the air-conditioning had broken down on the day we visited, the staff did their best to make us as comfortable as possible. And they were really helpful with special requests for grandma as well. Service that went the extra mile really made our visit memorable – thank you! (:
The Laneway Market
266 Tanjong Katong Road
Tel.: +65 6719 8832
Weekdays 10am-9.30pm
Weekends 9am-9.30pm
Leave a Reply

